news

Lawrence Okoli wants Mairis Briedis to name a reunification fight

Lawrence Okoli and Mairis Briedis

  • Lawrence Okoli knocked out Krzysztof Glowacki last Saturday to win the vacant WBo World Heavyweight Championship.
  • Okoli is the first fighter from Anthony Joshua's 258 Management Company to win a world title.
  • The 28-year-old's journey from eating hamburgers at McDonald's to jaw-flipping in the boxing ring is documented in a book called Dare to Change Your Life, which he wrote at the start of the pandemic.

Laurence Okoli knocked out Krzysztof Glowacki on Saturday night and became world champion for the first time. But before everything settles down for him, he already summons his fellow champion for the unification of the titles.

Per Okolie:

“I feel like next time I would like to fight someone like Briedis. I think that of the champions, Briedis is the one with whom I would most like to go next. It will be combined into 17 fights and 42 career fights. Obviously Eddie can get any champion, but I would be looking for Briedis. "

Briedis is Mairis Briedis, a 36-year-old Latvian fighter who is currently the IBF World Heavyweight Champion and Heavyweight Champion in the ring. Briedis hasn't fought since winning the WBSS heavyweight tournament in September 2020 and is considering moving to the heavyweight division. But with a star from Okoli born on Saturday night, he might change his mind.

From flipping burgers to snapping jaws

Okolie entered Saturday's bout against Krzysztof Glowacki as a big favorite on top boxing betting sites. Coming out on his own rap single titled "TKO", he lived up to that demand by knocking out former world champion Glovacki in the sixth round and taking the WBO heavyweight title in just 16 pro bout.

The 28-year-old from Hackney pushed Gloacky back with strong jabs in the early rounds. Glovacki, who was five inches shorter, could not close the distance as Okoli looked content to box from afar. However, in the fourth round, Glovacki received a cut in his right eye after the British boxer began to discharge his battery. In the sixth round, Okoli landed a powerful right-handed punch that knocked Gloacki on his back, forcing referee Marcus McDonnell to brush off the fight at 0:46 in the 6th round.

With the victory, Okoli joins British boxers such as Tony Bellew, David Haye and Johnny Nelson to win the 200lb world title. He is also the first client fighter from the sports company Anthony Joshua 258 Management to win a world title. Not bad for those who have gone from snacking hamburgers to clenching their jaws.

Don't be afraid to change your life

Okoli worked at McDonalds when he was inspired by boxing, watching Anthony Joshua win Olympic gold in London in 2012. The story is documented in a book he wrote at the start of the pandemic, when sports were suspended for three months. The book, Dare to Change Your Life, will be released next month, April 8th.

Indeed, Okolie changed his life in such a short period of time. He turned pro in 2017, won the Commonwealth and British First Heavyweight titles the following year and the European Heavyweight Championship in 2019. After defeating Glovacki's compatriot Nikodem Jesewski last December, he became the WBO International Heavyweight Champion and staged a title fight for the vacant world. title.

Okoli's appeal to Briedis, known as Sous, is just the first step towards his grand goal of uniting the heavyweight championships. After that, he wants to follow in the footsteps of Alexander Usik and move to the heavyweight division. This is a truly ambitious plan. But Okolie hopes the best chapters of his boxing life have yet to be written.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
en_USEnglish

Новости

Лоуренс Околи хочет, чтобы Майрис Бриедис назвал бой за объединение

Лоуренс Околи и Майрис Бриедис

  • Лоуренс Околи нокаутировал Кшиштофа Гловацки в прошлую субботу и завоевал вакантный титул чемпиона мира по версии WBo в тяжелом весе.
  • Околи — первый боец из 258 Management компании Энтони Джошуа, выигравший титул чемпиона мира.
  • Путь 28-летнего юноши от перекуса гамбургеров в Макдональдсе до переворота челюстями на боксерском ринге задокументирован в книге под названием «Осмелитесь изменить свою жизнь», которую он написал в начале пандемии.

Лоуренс Околи нокаутировал Кшиштофа Гловацки в субботу вечером и впервые стал чемпионом мира. Но прежде, чем для него все осело, он уже вызывает товарища-чемпиона за объединение титулов.

Per Okolie:

«Я чувствую, что в следующий раз я хотел бы драться с кем-то вроде Бриедиса. Я думаю, что из чемпионов Бриедис — тот, с кем мне больше всего хотелось бы идти следующим. Это будет объединено в 17 боев и 42 боя за карьеру. Очевидно, что Эдди сможет заполучить любого чемпиона, но я бы искал Бриедиса ».

Бриедис — это Маирис Бриедис, 36-летний латвийский боец, который в настоящее время является чемпионом мира по версии IBF в тяжелом весе и чемпионом в тяжелом весе в ринге. Бриедис не дрался с тех пор, как выиграл турнир WBSS в тяжелом весе в сентябре 2020 года, и обдумывает переход в супертяжелый вес. Но с звездой из Околи, рожденной в субботу вечером, он может передумать.

От переворачивания гамбургеров до щелкающих челюстей

Околие вступил в субботний бой против Кшиштофа Гловацки как большой фаворит на лучших сайтах ставок на бокс . Выйдя на свой собственный рэп-сингл под названием «TKO», он оправдал это требование, нокаутировав бывшего чемпиона мира Гловацки в шестом раунде и завоевав титул чемпиона WBO в тяжелом весе всего в своем 16-м профессиональном бою.

28-летний игрок из Хакни оттеснил Гловацки сильными джебами в первых раундах. Гловацки, который был ниже на пять дюймов, не мог сократить дистанцию, так как Околи выглядела довольной боксировать издалека. Однако в четвертом раунде Гловацки получил порез в правый глаз после того, как британский боксер начал разряжаться. В шестом раунде Околи нанес мощный удар правой рукой, в результате чего Гловацки упал ему на спину, что вынудило рефери Маркуса Макдоннелла отмахнуться от боя на отметке 0:46 в 6-м раунде.

С победой Околи присоединяется к таким британским боксерам, как Тони Беллью, Дэвид Хэй и Джонни Нельсон, и завоевывает титул чемпиона мира в весовой категории 200 фунтов. Он также является первым бойцом-клиентом из спортивной компании Энтони Джошуа 258 Management, который выиграл титул чемпиона мира. Неплохо для тех, кто перешел от перекусов гамбургеров к перебивке челюстей.

Не бойтесь изменить свою жизнь

Околи работал в McDonalds, когда он был вдохновлен боксом, наблюдая, как Энтони Джошуа выигрывал олимпийское золото в Лондоне в 2012 году. Эта история задокументирована в книге, которую он написал в начале пандемии, когда занятия спортом были приостановлены на три месяца. Книга под названием «Осмелитесь изменить свою жизнь» выйдет в следующем месяце, 8 апреля.

Действительно, Околие изменил его жизнь за такой короткий промежуток времени. Он стал профессионалом в 2017 году, выиграл титулы Содружества и Британии в первом тяжелом весе в следующем году и европейский пояс в первом тяжелом весе в 2019 году. После победы над соотечественником Гловацкого Никодема Джезевски в декабре прошлого года он стал международным чемпионом WBO в тяжелом весе и организовал титульный бой за вакантный мир. заглавие.

Обращение Околи к Бриедису, известному как «Соус», — лишь первый шаг к его грандиозной цели — объединить чемпионаты в тяжелом весе. После этого он хочет пойти по стопам Александра Усика и перейти в супертяжелую весовую категорию. Это действительно амбициозный план. Но Околие надеется, что лучшие главы его боксерской жизни еще не написаны.

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

Вернуться к верхней кнопке
ru_RUРусский